The Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh have been added to England’s ‘crimson listing’ in a transfer the federal government argues will shield the nation towards new variants of Covid-19.

Officers mentioned the choice got here at a essential time for the vaccine programme.

With over 30 million vaccinations delivered within the UK to date, the extra restrictions will assist to scale back the chance of latest variants – reminiscent of these first recognized in South Africa and Brazil – coming into England, the federal government hopes.

To date, surveillance has discovered that few circumstances of the South Africa variant have been recognized as being imported from Europe, with most coming from different elements of the world.

From 04:00 on April ninth, worldwide guests who’ve departed from or transited via Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh within the earlier ten days will probably be refused entry into England.

Solely British and Irish residents, or these with residence rights within the UK (together with long-term visa holders), will probably be allowed to enter and so they should keep in a government-approved quarantine facility for ten days.

They may even be required to reach into a chosen port.

No direct flight bans from these international locations will probably be put in place, however passengers are suggested to examine their journey plans earlier than departing for England.

Throughout their keep, passengers will probably be required to take a coronavirus take a look at on or earlier than day two and on or after day eight, and they won’t be allowed to shorten their quarantine interval on receipt of a damaging take a look at end result.

They may even not have the ability to finish their managed quarantine early via the Check to Launch scheme.

British nationals at the moment within the international locations on the crimson listing ought to make use of the industrial choices accessible in the event that they want to return to England.

Industrial routes that can allow British and Irish nationals and residents to return to England proceed to function.

Source link